Mrs. Weaver

It’s official. I am no longer legally a Shea. It is interesting, you married women can identify with me, but it is going to take some adjustment. I love my husband and it is an honor to take on his name, but I have been Brooke Shea for 24 years and now it is something different. It is how I identified my self for so long. You grow up fantasizing your name written with the last name of the boy you happen to like at the time, but when it really happens it is like wow this is different. Not to mention I cannot write Weaver very well or very quickly yet so my signature on my driver’s license is kind of funny. Anyway, it was exciting to get my new license this week, my new debit card, and my new Social Security card. I am Brooke Lauren Weaver! I am still getting used to it, but I am VERY proud to be a Weaver and I will honor that name!

6 thoughts on “Mrs. Weaver

  1. Good job! You were on top of that. I didn’t get my license with “Howeth” on it until after a year of being married! (It had to do with waiting until my OR license expired to get my CA license…not b/c I wasn’t proud to take Josh’s name!)

    Yeah, it does take some getting used to. I didn’t mess up too many times but a few months ago I was talking to someone and I called myself by my maiden name!! That was random and came out of no where!! So, anyway, good luck!

  2. Um…it is still crazy that you married Charlie Weaver…oh remembering the days we would sit and talk about it all! I love you and am still so excited for you!!!

  3. wow! I was just talking to my mom about how I am struggling with the whole name change issue. I just don’t see myself as anything other than a Broschak and that is a big deal to me. I am proud of you Brookie and I am so happy that you have a wonderful second family that you can now be apart of in that aspect. Love you girl, but I might still call you Brooke Shea for a little longer 😉

  4. I can’t think of anyone who would honor that name better than you Brooke. Can we have lunch again soon Mrs. Weaver?

Leave a Reply

