Baby Bath

Yes, I got to give my very first, first baby bath!  You know on the movies when you see how the nurses take the baby and then they wash them off and give them back to mommy?  Well that is what I did.  I was not actually in the delivery room because it is done a little differently now, the mom goes through labor, the first nurse just kind of wipes off the baby a little bit, and then mom and baby come to the post partum unit.  That is where I stepped in.  I was able to clean the baby thoroughly right after he was born.  He had probably only been alive for about an hour.  CRAZY!!  He was so cute.  He got cold so his little bottom lip started to quiver, it was adorable.  I also had to give him his 2nd shot of his entire life!  He didn’t even cry, either I am good, or that sugar water works wonders! (proably the latter)  Anyway, I am so thankful for little babies and life!  It is so much fun to be with mothers who are laboring and also to see the gift they receive in the aftermath!!

baby_bath

2 thoughts on “Baby Bath

  1. OM Goodness!!!!! I am SO jealous! The JOY of birth can’t explained in words, you need to be there. You held a child that was less than an hour old………..OMG!!! He didn’t cry when you gave him a shot because you are meant for this job and are that good! I cannot wait for YOU to be THE mommy — 🙂

  2. I agree with Mama Weave!! Wow, Brookie, that is so awesome! I would have loved to see you give that shot.
    That baby is so cute!

Leave a Reply

