Taking a Breath

To me, taking a breath means that I am getting to relax, I am taking a moment to myself to just think about my day, what went on, what I will do next, or just taking a cat nap.  But what does that mean for someone else?  When a patient who has just had trauma from a motor vehicle accident that is not responding, everyone stands by to see if he will take a breath.  A mother watches as her baby is born still and she waits and hopes for her son to take a breath.  A near drowning victim receives CPR, her mother stands by hoping that her child will breathe once again.  I am busy right now, a week of 12 hour days is hard.  My feet hurt and I get dizzy when I stand up too fast, but at the end of the day, I count my blessings to know that I can take a breath one more day.  It puts perspective into my life when I am reminded that Christ died for me and I now live in his grace.  I can make it through the next 10 weeks, and I will find those moments precious that I can take a breath and thank Him for his goodness in my life.

One thought on “Taking a Breath

  1. We are SO lucky that Charlie has you…..that means we do too! You will be THE BEST nurse. You are incredible and we love you!

Leave a Reply

