Reflections on Summer

So I was thinking, I feel like summer just finally ended.  The “fall” weather really only set in this last week and somehow November completely crept up on me.  My 5 month old baby is currently scooting/crawling to try to touch the buttons on my computer, 5 months!  As the summer has come and gone, so has Samantha’s newborness (not a real word, but it fit for me 🙂  It has just seemed to fly by.  The little pumpkin that made a surprise entrance to our world has changed it for the better.

Samantha’s incredible demeanor and help from many others allowed me to do so many things with my kids I did not imagine being able to do when I got pregnant last year.  We traveled to Blythe with my family, traveled to big bear with Charlie’s family, visited friend’s pools at least once a week, and visited the park all summer long.  Our daily life, such as the pool and park were very structured and limited to very close proximity because nap time was still essential to this mama in order to recharge and be ready to keep the pace until dinner time and rest as I woke up and did it all over again.

For this blog post I wanted to write mainly about how I went about the pool routine!  Taking three toddlers and a baby to the pool just sounds like a disaster, but with a little planning it kept us sane and gave us fun all summer long!  I would usually aim to be at the pool by 10 am.  I spent time at 3 of my friend’s pools this summer.  Let me tell you, these friends are amazing.  They would give us access whenever and we would just go in through the side of their house and swim, and then take off when we wanted to!  I usually made sure to change all of the kiddos into their swim shorts or suits before leaving.  However, I would make sure to change them into swim diapers only when we got there because lets be real, the moment you put a swim diaper on they are going to poop!  No need to waste a swim diaper, those things are expensive!  Here is a list of things I packed in my pool bag:

Extra swim diapers, regular diapers, sun screen, clothes for after, a trash bag, towels, sunglasses, and hats

I always left this bag partially packed and put it in the closet after each use so that I did not have to completely repack it every time. I also put together a bag of lunch and goodies so that when we were swimming we would tackle lunch at the same time.  The twins would almost always fall asleep on the way home so I just made sure they were ready to be thrown in bed when we got home!  Thankfully Liana is water safe on her own and she just loves it!  The twins wear the floats with the chest piece and just swim around the water on their own. Thankfully our friends have the toddler step and the boys loved that!  I am so thankful my kiddos love the water.

It did get really tricky when the baby would want to nurse, Liana would want me to swim, the boys would want me to snuggle them if they were cold, inevitably the boys would go number two at some point so I had to catch them quick and get them out and change them too!!  Never a dull moment!!  Thankful for the summer and the fun it brought this year!

IMG_6632

One thought on “Reflections on Summer

Leave a Reply

