Home Sweet Home

As many of you know, my house was dangerously close to the recent fires that happened this last weekend. I was able to visit my little home town that was devastated by the fires. My mom took me around to all the hard hit places and these are some pictures of what we found. This first picture was taken right outside my track of homes. It is of the riverbed, the bike trail we commonly use, and some of the houses in my track of homes.

img_4262

This next picture is of the apartments that are located directly behind my track of homes. They were hit pretty hard.

img_4267

This next picture is of a park that our community built when I was in junior high. We got the money together to build it and it turned out so beautiful. My sisters and I put our hand prints on a tile that then went into the walls surrounding this park. This is some of what it looked like before the fire.

img_3650

This is what it looked like today when I saw it. Praise the Lord Yorba Linda is a pretty wealthy town, and there are already plans in the works to rebuild the park.

img_4273

There were also a number of streets that were still blocked off at the time we went to look.  They are trying to keep people like us (lookiloo’s) off the affected streets.  It was amazing to see the devastation in your own town, I know living in southern california there are many people who can empathize with me, but there is nothing like seeing things that are familiar to you burnt down.  Thanks for your prayers to those of you who called and thought of us.  We really appreciate it, the fire truly did go right around our house and left it unaffected.  Here are a few more and thanks to the firefighters who helped save many houses from being burnt down.

img_4278

img_42821

img_4289